In the beginning of the Time section, Tarthang Rinpoche challenges the primacy of linear time. It is my understanding that he does this by basically saying that we experience events or things in a linear/ordered fashion, but this does not in itself prove that such events are in themselves essentially linear, or that the linear flow of time is somehow behind events we experience.

I will leave that as that for now. I don’t know how to elaborate, although I think it’s a fair summary.

Personally, my thoughts about Time are, recently:

1. Time is more or less perception. Perception doesn’t exactly mean that a solid self experiences things in a variety of ways, but that there is experience that happens and we usually ascribe it to a self of sorts.

2. I have this weird habit of quantifying things, with time, and other things. Like if I am waiting for someone, I try to guess about when they’ll be there. “They should be here in ten, no, twenty minutes, twenty at most, ok, so between two-thirty and two-thirty five…” this odd attempt to control chaos through number-estimation. I have done this since I was a kid, since I can remember.

The weird thing is not that I use quantifying to rationalize or make myself feel in control, but that, so often, the criteria or the system within which I create these schemes is so arbitrary or nonsensical.

At the same time, it seems stupid to just say, “Well, you never know what is going to happen.” Why is that? It is true, in one sense, but somehow not only unsatisfying, but depressing, sort of grey…

3. Scheduling and anxiety go hand in hand for me. I don’t know why. Could be just because numbers, and time, inspire some panic, or obsessive ordering in my mind. Has anyone really mastered schedules, in a way beyond just doing them?

4. If we can view time as an energy, do some places provide or inspire certain kinds of time? Does this mercenary or materialistic view of time somehow undermine it, bringing it down to a “lower level” of experience?

About jakekarlins

Aspiring writer and artist, dharma practitioner, yogi.

Leave a Reply

