“We have been programmed by previous thoughts, by language, and by the momentum of past conditioning. The program generates itself, empty of substance; the wheel revolves with no one to turn it, establishing subject and object alike.” Tarthang Tulku, Love of Knowledge

Finally, I’m pushing forward into the knowledge section.

Appropriately, I’m also abandoning the entire project, in a sense. After having made some contact with a teacher associated with TSK, and approached making contact with Rinpoche himself, the problems of this project became much more obvious to me. I wrote about this last time.

At this point, my plan is to race forward through the knowledge section, then drop this thing in its present form. That means moving on to a TSK project with a more auspicious form: a sort of introduction to Time Space Knowledge experience, not a commentary. A commentary on any of the other books would be wonderful, I think, but also a huge undertaking, and beyond my capabilities at this time.

So, next will be a book both larger and smaller in scope- an introduction to the vision, or an attempt at that, structured loosely:

1. Around the three levels, across Time, Space, and Knowledge. The three levels are so similar in each one, so connected, I think this is writable.

2. At the same time, opening up and working out the various TSK terms, such as points, zero/zerolessness, opening, and so forth. So the book will have a sort of dictionary element to it.

3. It will still refer back to Buddhist practice and thought (since I find that helps me understand it).

Ok. You know, since this post is of less interest than most others to people who are not me, I’ll save it, and move ahead. If anyone is reading any of this, this is one they need not read.

Relation to the opening quote?

Hmm. Well, I find it delightful, even though it is, in some ways, a description of samsara. I think it is because it’s description- it’s an artful awareness of the action of samsara, the wheel turning with no one turning it.

Sensitivity, irritability, and impatience are problematic, but I also think they’re excellent developments: they indicate space, and awareness. How else could I get so impatient, unless I’m getting more aware of things, of the passage of time? With each moment of time being sliced down into smaller and more intensely irritating chunks, there is more awareness- not only am I noticing time more, but I’m noticing the noticing, all of which involves…

SPACE!

So samsara implies something else, I think constantly. This relates to knowledge in that knowledge often seems to come out of space and time. Knowledge could be said to BE space, or an element of space (in terms of the space of awareness around the irritability and emotionality). Could knowledge be said to be time as well? At this point, it has a symmetry to it, but I don’t know how that would make sense.

You could say that time is an energetic manifesting force, so knowledge has that as well, a sense of popping up, arising, having various moving energies to it.

There’s some element of sophistication missing there, though; that argument seems to me too much like a simple correspondence thing: this is that, this is like that. In general, I think that kind of logic is simplistic in a deadening or stupefying way, at least when I use it.

There. Enough for that one. Next time, actual commentary.

Quotes used with permission from Dharma Publishing. Books available from Dharma Publishing.

About jakekarlins

Aspiring writer and artist, dharma practitioner, yogi.

Leave a Reply

