Well, this series is almost done. I’ll be editing it and reposting with a little new art, and some poetry.

When I moved to Thailand, I brought a bunch of books with me. I’m glad I did, it’s very hard to find English language books here. One of the books I brought was actually a sort of old journal from three years ago. I have been studying Tarthang Tulku’s TSK theory for about five years now, I think. At one point, I set out to try many of a the meditations he sets out.

I’ve avoided writing about this area of TSK.

I do meditate every day. However, my practice is 90% Buddhist (not TSK) at this point, so I don’t feel qualified to explain TSK practices. I also never received them in person, and this quality of transmission is important. Still, I did try a bunch out, and wrote about my experiences. Nothing incredible or breakthrough-type there, mostly personal and small experiences. They will be familiar, I think to people who’ve tried meditating before, though. So I’ll share a number of those notes here.

Also, these were written often on the subway in NYC, going to and from work, or on weekends. In the first one I mention people sitting next to me, so that’s why- I was meditating (eyes closed) on the subway.

 

“When I think of someone sitting next to me, often (?) I get a flash of an image of the first time I saw them, or the most recent time I saw them clearly- this gets layered over present-moment experience.”

“Often I try to classify people by types very quickly…”

“…songs and repeating phrases…”

“How do states arise? A judgement is made- pleasant, unpleasant, neutral- and then thoughts come up and a physical feeling goes along with it- if the feeling gets strong enough we say an emotion has arisen.”

“different voices- are they ‘heard’? are visual memories ‘seen’?”

“tension as connected to ‘temporal structures’ based on concerns- seems to be about standards and expectations.”

“being unable to think of what to do? to form a clear intention?”

 

 

“How does this work free of ‘context’?”

That’s the last one for today. Wonderfully vague and general. I love abstraction.

I’ll also include the subheadings for the meditations. By the way, I think these practices come from the book “Love of Knowledge” by Tarthang Tulku Rinpoche (Dharma Publishing).

Here are some of the subheadings:

Being of Knowledge

Open Space Dimension

Momentum of Time

Knowing Through Space

 

I really like the titles and headings in TSK books, and think they can often communicate more than my own wordy and intellectual mulling overs.

About jakekarlins

Aspiring writer and artist, dharma practitioner, yogi.

Leave a Reply

